Students From Five Schools Enter Contest


Texarkana, U.S.A. – Sunday, April 25, 1965

Five schools of the Texarkana Independent School District held an Inter-School Academic and Literary Meet Friday. Participating schools were Center Point, Goree, Jamison, Jones, and Sunset.

Fifty-nine scholastic representatives from each of these schools participated in such activities as declaiming, extemporaneous speaking, number sense, picture memory, spelling, and plain writing.

Dr. J. W. Donalson, assistant superintendent of the Texarkana, Texas, Independent School District, presented trophies to the five participating schools.

Winners in the various activities were:

Declaiming (Boys)
Kenneth WoolridgeJones1st
Bobby Lee JonesGoree2nd
Donald Ray LewisSunset3rd
Willie WashingtonCenter Point4th
Curtis StewartJamison5th
Declaiming (Girls)
Roslyan K. AbneySunset1st
Cathy Annette MitchellGoree1st
Carolyn HillJamison2nd
Sharon JeffersonJones3rd
Aretha HouffCenter Point4th
Extemporaneous Speaking (Boys)
Donald MitchellJamison1st
Almor Penton IIISunset2nd
Roy SnaerJones3rd
Edward JohnsonGoree4th
Extemporaneous Speaking (Girls)
Mars Valrey OwensSunset1st
Quoquise HillJones2nd
Carolyn HillJamison3rd
Wanda GolstonGoree4th
Lazella ThomasCenter Point5th
Number Sense (team)
Verna Deen FortJones1st
Rhoda Bland
Remelle HilliardJamison2nd
Janice Hopkins
Carol TumblinSunset3rd
Walter Miller
Aretha HouffCenter Point4th
Willie Washington
Yvette GoreeGoree5th
Robert Simon
Picture Memory (team)
Yolanda PierreGoree1st
Wanda Jackson
Vernon Ruth GreenSunset2nd
Sandra Patton
Sheila FordJones3rd
Lawanda Waites
Evelyn OliverJamison4th
Alice Smith
Dorwin HouffCenter Point5th
Cormelia Washington
Spelling (team)
Jean Hazel MatlockGoree1st
Johnnie Ray Phillips
Mary WashingtonJones1st
Vickie Moore
Leotis GellingtonSunset2nd
William T. Gibson
Joyce GrayCenter Point3rd
Pamella Garrett
Beverly StewartJamison4th
Michael Clark
Plain Writing
Ververly Ann GastonSunset1st
Timothy JefferyJamison1st
Mildred WilsonJones1st
Brenda FortJones2nd
Cynthia SharpSunset3rd
Pamella LaGuardyeCenter Point3rd
Sherian GoreeGoree4th
Gregory BonhamJamison5th

M. W. Patterson was chairman of League Activities. E. P. Pierre, administrative principal, and M. F. Flewellen, principal, Jones Elementary School and Dorothy Peters presented awards to the winners.

Chairmen in charge of the various activities were as follows: Declaiming, Queen E. Green; Extemporaneous Speaking, Adell L. Meador; Number Sense, Eva Mae Scott; Picture Memory, Audrey Haynes; Spelling, B. R. Stokes; and Plain Writing, Dorothy Roberts.